2017 Blue Jays Opening Day Roster Predictions Revisited

The Birdfeed takes a look back at our Blue Jays opening day roster predictions

I released my opening day roster predictions for the Blue Jays about a month ago on March 7. Now that opening day has come and gone, let’s see how well, or not well, I fared in my attempt.

Here’s the 25 man roster I predicted (I ordered the position players and bullpen according to how sure I felt about their inclusion:

C: Russell Martin

RF: Jose Bautista

DH Kendrys Morales

SS: Troy Tulowitzki

CF: Kevin Pillar

1B Justin Smoak

IF Darwin Barney

3B Josh Donaldson  

IF/OF Steve Pearce

C Jarrod Saltalamacchia

LF: Melvin Upton

OF Ezequiel Carrera

2B: Devon Travis

Starters:

SP Marco Estrada

SP J.A Happ

SP Marcus Stroman

SP Aaron Sanchez

SP Francisco Liriano

Bullpen:

RP Roberto Osuna

RP Jason Grilli

RP J.P Howell

RP Joe Smith

RP Joe Biagini

RP Mat Latos

RP Bo Schultz

DL: Glenn Sparkman, Gavin Floyd

Lost to Waivers/DFA: Mike Bolsinger, Ryan Goins.

Here’s what the Blue Jays actually went with:

C: Martin

1B: Justin Smoak

2B: Devon Travis

3B: Josh Donaldson 

SS: Troy Tulowitzki

LF: Steve Pearce

CF: Kevin Pillar

RF: Jose Bautista

DH Kendrys Morales

C Jarrod Saltalamacchia

IF  Ryan Goins

IF Darwin Barney

OF Ezequiel Carrera

SP Marco Estrada

SP J.A Happ

SP Marcus Stroman

SP Aaron Sanchez

SP Francisco Liriano

RP Dominic Leone 

RP Jason Grilli

RP Joe Biagini

RP J.P Howell

RP Joe Smith

RP Ryan Tepera  

RP Aaron Loup 

DL: Glenn Sparkman, Bo Schultz, Roberto Osuna

DFA: Mike Bolsinger

So out of 25, I correctly predicted 21. I obviously can’t fault myself for failing to predict Osuna and Schultz’ injuries, so I’ll bell-curve my mark to 21/23.

Latos’ stock seemed high when this piece was written but fell quickly after. I also didn’t correctly gauge how highly the club valued Goins and how low they regarded Upton.

I happened to be correct about Bolsinger’s non-inclusion as well but not for the correct reason. I felt he’d be pushed aside by Bo Schultz and Mat Latos but Bolsinger was actually DFA’d in favour of Ryan Tepera—something I’m still somewhat surprised by.

I ranked Devon Travis as one of the least certain to due to his questionable health status at the time. While inaccurate on Upton, Latos and Schultz, I did rank them as low certainty.

All in all not bad. There weren’t many question marks with this team to begin with so not all that impressive either.

After the minor league teams have their respective opening days, I’ll revisit my predictions for each affiliate as well.

Leave a Reply

